Celebrating how far I’ve come

Last night I hit the weights, then I ran.  I decided to run for only 15 minutes at an easy pace. Then I decided to step it up. then I realized that I could probably push it faster.  By the end of it I ran 1.38 miles in that 15 minutes.   Two summers ago my husband and I decided to see how I would do on the Air Force physical fitness test.  He is Air National Guard and was getting ready for his test (which he always does really well on).  

I couldn’t pass the run, I couldn’t do a single full body push-up, and I couldn’t do a sit-up.  We looked up the requirements last night after my workout to see how close I am on the run.  I just need to get to a mile and a half in 15 minutes. Which I think I can do b/c I started off jogging at an easy pace (5.0 mph) and didn’t start bumping up until at least 8 minutes in.  Then he said “but you still wouldn’t pass b/c of the push-up. You’d have to do at least 14.”  To which I got to respond “I can do 14!”   He was surprised. He remembered how hard I struggled to get that one out.  

I still can’t do sit-ups.  I’ll work on that.  But the best thing about that conversation was him saying “you’ve come so far. I’m proud of you.”  Then I realized that I’m proud of myself! It was good to remember that while my weight isn’t where I want it to be it doesn’t mean that I haven’t achieved some big goals in fitness.   

About qsternie

I am living what I guess is now considered to be an "alternative lifestyle." I am a married black female who has chosen to be a stay at home mom. Shocking, I know.

Posted on December 10, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

